: High on the Hog Blog
Purveyor of Idle Observation

Please note: I'm no longer updating this particular blog, but keep it around for archival purposes. Visit me at the current blog at

Old Californio, Westering Again

By: Luke Gilman | Other Posts by
Go to Comments | Be the First to Comment

I’m loving the first couple of tracks from Old Californio. The album comes out April 7th.

Recorded in their old chicken coop garage turned recording studio in Pasadena, CA, Old Californio set out to mix a gritty soup of bucolic rock and roll influenced as much by Moby Grape, Crazy Horse and The Grateful Dead as by the chaparral canyons and ungovernable San Gabriel mountains themselves. The 10 songs on Westering Again evoke winsome images of riparian vistas and wine stained front porches, and of places forgotten and out of the way. The album ventures from raw riparian rock & roll, to harmony rich folk/ country, to the psychedelic/ philosophic.

Westering Again will be released on their own independent Californio Records label and will available for sale on April 7th through CD Baby, iTunes and and was co-produced by Old Californio and Alfonso Rodenas (Mark Olson, Ben Vaughn, Los Tigres Del Norte) and mixed / mastered at Las Virgenes Recording. The core of the band include singer/ guitarist Rich Dembowski, drummer Justin Smith, bassist Jason Chesney, guitarist Woody Aplanalp and keyboardist Levi Nu̱ez. Also, contributing to the album are their heavy friends Рfrequent collaborator Dave Gleason on guitar, bassist Tony Russell, accordionist Debra Tala, trumpeteer Slim Zwerling, and pianist Dan Mudd.

Bookmark this Page:
  • e-mail
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Facebook
  • digg
  • Live
  • Furl
  • Ma.gnolia
  • Reddit
  • YahooMyWeb
  • Slashdot

Category: music i like


Leave a Reply